Wednesday, December 29, 2010

Movies that won all five major Oscars

“And the Oscar goes to…” – numerous hosts, Academy Awards Broadcasts

The five major Oscars are considered to be Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress, and Best Screenplay (either original or adapted.)  Even though the Oscars have been handed out for over eighty years, there have been only three movies that have won all five of these awards.

Those movies are It Happened One Night (1934), One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest (1975), and The Silence of the Lambs (1991.)

Coincidentally, none of these three movies won any Oscars beyond these five.  Another thing they have in common is that all three screenplays were adapted ones.
On to the reviews....

No comments:

Post a Comment